top of page
Nea Ekklesia

Nea Ekklesia (“New Church”) was built in the Great Palace of Constantinople by Basil I and completed in 880. Situated a short distance east of the Chrysotriklinos, the Nea was covered by five domes, probably one in the center and one each over the four corners. It was dedicated to Christ, the archangel Michael (and Gabriel?), the prophet Elijah, the Virgin, and St. Nicholas, which implies four chapels in addition to the main altar. The decoration was particularly sumptuous: the chancel screen, synthronon, and altar table were revetted with silver, the floor was of opus sectile, the domes were roofed with bronze tiles. The atrium was adorned with two fountains of precious marble. The church had its own clergy and played an important part in palatine ceremonies. Converted into a monastery by the 12th century, the Nea was robbed of many of its ornaments by Isaac II. During the Latin occupation it served as a palatine chapel. It survived the Turkish conquest and was probably destroyed in 1490.

 Page under construction 


Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium edited by Alexander Kazhdan

Primary Sources


Nea Ekklesia (Byzantium 1200)

bottom of page